Our Hospice staff and volunteers honored

Our Hospice of South Central Indiana employees were recently recognized at the Columbus Regional Health All Workforce Event. Hospice staff and volunteers were recognized with award for Scholarship, Service Excellence, Quality and Safety Achievements, Growth and a special recognition for the Our Hospice Volunteer of the Year.

Robert Borczon Scholarship winner: Kim Napier, RN, Inpatient Facility Shift Supervisor

This scholarship is awarded in honor of Robert Borczon, former chief administrator at CRH from 1967-1985 for those seeing professional development in a health-related career through post-secondary education. Napier is working toward her certification as a Nurse Practitioner.

Marion Dietrich Service Excellence North Vernon Office
Sandy Downs, Patient Care Manager
Amanda Blackburn, Administrative Assistant
Cathy Betz, RN
Andrea Weiler, RN
Kristen Miller, RN
Jennifer Asche, RN
Jenny Asche, RN
Kelli Carter, RN
Kim Oliver, RN
Ray Vaughn, RN
Betty Owens, RN
Linda Garrity, Home Health Aide
Jeff Curry, Chaplain
David Caldie, MSW
Courtney Wagner, RN
Chris Hall, Administrative Assistant

The CAHPS-Hospice Experience of Care Survey is sent to primary caregivers after a patient passes away. Based on responses from caregivers, the North Vernon office received the best rating of care from nearly 91-percent of the respondents.

Quality and Safety Achievement Award – Our Hospice Care Coordination Project Team:
Christina Alvis, Administrative Assistant
Stacie Gilmore, Administrative Assistant
Amanda Blackburn, Administrative Assistant
Molly Jenkins, Clinical Documentation Analyst
Kelly Brinson, Administrative Assistant
Tammy Miller, Administrative Assistant
Katie Flinn, Administrative Assistant

The Quality and Safety award rewards best practices in achieving quality outcomes.

The Hospice team worked on a process to better coordinate care between nursing facilities and the Our Hospice team. The process is now guided by Our Hospice Administrative Assistants and scores have improved to above the 90th percentile.

Growth Achievement – Our Hospice Resource Development Department Ellen Brunner, Director of Major Gift Planning
Brigitte Halvorsen, Team Coordinator, Resource Development
Julie Davis, Event Specialist
Lissa Fischer, Prospect Research Analyst
Tabitha Saltzman, Administrative Assistant

The Growth award is given to a team that showcases best practice in achieving growth or innovation.

The Our Hospice Resource Development Department established and grew an annual fund direct mail appeal with results increasing by 75-percent year over year and implemented a major gift process increasing major gifts by over 65-percent year over year to increase the on-going support for Our Hospice of South Central Indiana.

Our Hospice Volunteer of the Year – Don Meyer for 25 years of service

This award is given to a volunteer who does an outstanding job representing the mission and goals of Our Hospice.

“We are proud of all our staff who work daily to make every moment count for our patients and families,” said Laura Leonard, President. She continued, “Don Meyer has been a volunteer with Our Hospice for 25 years. His caring spirit and compassion to help others has brought peace and comfort to many patients and families over the year, we celebrate with him as the Volunteer of the Year.”