Many Bartholomew County “races” already decided

Many candidates on the Bartholomew County ballot will be having a stress-free election night. All of the countywide races are unopposed and they will all be filled by Republicans.

Those include:

  • Superior Court I Judge Jim Worton
  • Prosecutor Bill Nash
  • Clerk Jay Phelps
  • County Commissioner Carl H. Lienhoop
  • Sheriff Matt Myers

Current County Treasurer Pia O’Connor is unopposed in her race for county auditor and current auditor Barb Hackman is going to be the next county treasurer. Both candidates had reached the end of their second term in their previous offices and were unable to seek re-election under state law.

Tami Hines is unopposed in her race for county recorder. She previously served two terms as county clerk.

Ginny Whipple will be serving her first term as county assessor. She is unopposed today in her race to replace outgoing assessor Lew Wilson.

County Council incumbents Laura DeDomenic and Mark Gorbett are uncontested in their races for re-election.

In the statehouse, Republican State Rep. Sean Eberhart is running unopposed for the Shelbyville-centered District 57 seat that includes northeastern Bartholomew County. Republican State Sen. Chip Perfect is also unopposed for the senate District 43 seat which covers eastern Bartholomew County.

All of the seats on the Bartholomew Consolidated and Flat Rock-Hawcreek school boards are uncontested today. In BCSC, Jill Shedd, Rich Stenner and Kathy Dayhoff-Dwyer are going to be re-elected, as will newcomer Julie Bilz. In Flat Rock-Hawcreek, Pat Walters and Dr. John Harker will be re-elected along with new board member Chad Miller.

Races where your vote matters

Among the few Bartholomew County races on the local ballots are two seats on the County Council. Republican Scott Bonnell and Democrat Hanna Omar are running to represent eastern Bartholomew County while incumbent Republican Councilman Jorge Morales is defending his seat against Democrat Lynne Fleming in the southwestern portion of the county.

There is also a four way race between candidates for the two seats on Hope Town Council and five people running for spots on the Clifford Town Board.

In the statehouse, Bartholomew County voters, along with those in Johnson County, will be helping decide between incumbent Republican State Sen. Greg Walker or Democrat Ross Thomas in State Senate District 41. There is a three-way race for the Indiana House District 59 seat that represents most of Bartholomew County and Columbus with Republican Ryan Lauer, Democrat Dale Nowlin and Libertarian Clyde Myers.

The very southern part of Bartholomew County, along with parts of Jefferson, Jackson and Jennings counties will be voting for State House District 69 between Republican incumbent Rep. Jim Lucas and Democrat Steve Schoettmer.

In addition to the statewide races, Bartholomew County voters will be helping decide who will replace Republican Luke Messer in the 6th Congressional district race – Republican Greg Pence, Democrat Jeanine Lake or Libertarian Tom Ferkinhoff.