Election Day: 8 candidates seeking Seymour mayor’s office

Five Republicans and three Democrats are facing off in Seymour today for a chance to run as mayor on the November ballot.

Republicans will choose between Bridget Jacobi, Thomas Joray, Matthew Nicholson, Nate Otte and Matt Rowe. The Democratic candidates are Tyler Henkle, James Kelly and Rexanne Ude.

Current Mayor Craig Luedeman announced in November that he would not be seeking re-election. He served for three terms.

In the races for clerk-treasurer in Seymour, Republicans Darrin R. Boas, Sarrah Hodapp and Dovie Stidham are running. Robin Carpenter and Kristine Hackman are running on the Democratic side for clerk-treasurer.

Current Clerk-Treasurer Fred Lewis has held that seat since 1991.

Republicans Joshua Dailey and Chad Hubbard are competing for the City Council District 3 seat, while Seth Davidson is challenging incumbent James Rebber for District 4 in the Republican primary.

Polls are open until 6 tonight for the city elections.