Classic Cummins race cars prepare to take anniversary lap

Cummins historic diesel-powered race cars were unveiled Wednesday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Photo courtesy of Cummins Inc.

All five of the Cummins diesel powered Indy 500 historic race cars were all in the same place, for the first time yesterday at the Speedway. IndyCar drivers including Tony Stewart will be taking a lap in the antique cars just before Sunday’s race.

The five diesel race cars are from 1931, 1934, 1950 and 1952. In 1934, Cummins had both the No. 5 and No. 6 cars in the race. The 1952 Cummins Diesel Special No. 28 car was the first turbocharged car to race at Indy. It won the pole position with an average speed of 138 miles per hour

To commemorate Cummins’ 100th anniversary, the cars will participate in a vintage parade lap just prior to the green flag dropping at this year’s race.

Joining Stewart driving the cars will be veteran Indy drivers Johnny Rutherford, Lyn St. James and Willy T. Ribbs, along with Tom Dollmeyer, executive engineer for Cummins Electrified Power segment. Al Unser Sr. will be a passenger in Rutherford’s car. Unser Sr. won the 1987 Indy 500 driving the No. 25 Cummins Holset car that year.

Former Racer Lyn St. James behind the wheel of a classic Cummins-powered Indy car. Photo courtesy of Cummins Inc.