Republicans win local statehouse races.

In local races for the Indiana Statehouse, State Sen. Greg Walker, the incumbent Republican, defeated Democrat Ross Thomas 62 percent to 38 percent in State Senate District 41.

Walker says he’s humbled by the victory.

Sen. Walker also congratulated newly elected State Rep. Ryan Lauer for his victory in the race for Indiana State Representative District 59. Walker says that both families have grown close over the campaign.

Lauer defeated Democrat Dale Nowlin and Libertarian Clyde Myers in the race for Indiana State Representative District 59 with 57 percent of the vote compared to Nowlin’s 40 percent. Myers drew just under three percent in that race. Lauer says there are a number of issues he wants to tackle…

Lauer will take over the seat from current Republican Rep. Milo Smith, who opted not to seek reelection.

In the race for State Representative District 69, which includes very southern Bartholomew County along with parts of Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties, Incumbent Republican Rep. Jim Lucas of Seymour won with 69 percent of the voters over Democrat Steve Schoettmer of Elizabethtown.

Northeastern Bartholomew County is in Statehouse District 57, where Republican incumbent Rep. Sean Eberhart was unopposed.