Republicans to continue hold on all county government offices

Bartholomew County Republicans will continue to have a lock on local government.

In the County Council District 1 race in eastern Bartholomew County, between Republican Scott Bonnell and Democrat Hanna Omar, Bonnell pulled 65 percent of the vote, with Omar carrying 35 percent.

And in the County Council District 4 race in southwestern Bartholomew County, incumbent Republican Jorge Morales defeated Democrat Lynne Fleming also 65 to 35 percent.

Most of the Bartholomew County countywide races were uncontested this election. That includes:

  • County Commissioner Carl Lienhoop
  • Sheriff Matt Myers
  • Prosecutor Bill Nash
  • Superior Court 1 Judge Jim Worton
  • Clerk Jay Phelps
  • Auditor Pia O’Connor
  • Assessor Ginny Whipple
  • Recorder Tami Hines
  • Treasurer Barb Hackman
  • County Council members Laura DeDomenic and Mark Gorbett.