Candidates for Statehouse District 59 on why they deserve your vote

Seven candidates, five Republicans and two Democrats, are actively campaigning to win the District 59 seat at the Statehouse being vacated by retiring Rep. Milo Smith of Columbus. The district covers most of Bartholomew County. Mary Kohen and Dale Nowlin are running in the Democratic primary.

We asked the candidates why they are the best candidate to represent the district.

Kohen says she would work to benefit all Hoosiers.

Nowlin says that education is vital to the state’s interests and that he is in a unique position to serve the district.

The winner of the Democratic primary will face the winner of the Republican primary being contested between Lew Wilson, JoAnne Flohr, Ryan Lauer, John Counceller, and Allen Smith. Benjamin Chastain is also on the Republican ballot, but he is not actively campaigning.

Counceller says the fact that he is an outsider should make him an attractive option for voters.

Flohr says being a female and not being a politician will allow her to bring a new perspective to the Statehouse.

05-04 Election JoAnne Flohr q5 RAW

Wilson talks about why he’s the best candidate…

05-04 Election LEW WILSON Q5 RAW

Lauer says that his service on the Bartholomew County Council is a good indicator of how he’ll serve at the Statehouse.

Smith says his previous service to the community will serve him well at the Statehouse.

05-04 Election Allan Smith Q5 RAW

The primary election is May 8th.