Bartholomew voters to see few contested races on ballot

Bartholomew County voters will have several contested races on their ballots this fall, but far from a full slate. All of the countywide races, now held by Republicans, are unopposed in the Nov. 6th election.

Among the races that are contested:

In the County Council District 1 seat, Republican Scott Bonnell will face Democrat Hanna Omar, while the County Council District 4 seat will have Republican incumbent Jorge Morales running against Democrat Lynne Fleming.

There are four candidates running for the two at-large seats on the Hope Town Council. Incumbent Republican Clyde Compton and incumbent Democrat Jerry Bragg are running against Republican Lou K. and Democrat Chelsea Warriner.

There will be three contested statehouse races in Bartholomew County with Republican incumbent Senator Greg Walker running against Democrat Ross Thomas for the senate seat representing most of the county. Republican Ryan Lauer, Democrat Dale Nowlin and Libertarian Clyde D. Myers are running for state representative district 59 representing most of the county.

Republican State Rep. Jim Lucas is seeking re-election against Democrat Steve Schoettmer. in the Seymour centered District 69 which includes the very southern part of Bartholomew County.

Bartholomew County voters will also have a vote in hotly contested Congressional races. Incumbent Democratic Sen. Joe Donnelly is facing Republican Mike Braun for the U.S. Senate and Republican Greg Pence is facing Democrat Jeanine Lake for the District 6th congressional seat now held by Republican Rep. Luke Messer.

Among the uncontested races:

  • Superior Court I Judge Jim Worton
  • Prosecutor Bill Nash
  • Clerk Jay Phelps
  • Auditor Pia O’Connor
  • Recorder Tami Hines
  • Treasurer Barb Hackman
  • Sheriff Matt Myers
  • Assessor Ginny Whipple
  • County Commissioner Carl H. Lienhoop.

Republican State Sen. Chip Perfect and State Rep. Sean R. Eberhart are both running unopposed. Eberhart’s Shelbyville district also includes northeastern Bartholomew County and Perfect’s senate seat also covers eastern Bartholomew County.

Local school board races are all unopposed on Nov. 6th.  Dr. Jill Shedd, Rich Stenner and Kathy Dayhoff-Dwyer will all win re-election to their seats on the Bartholomew Consolidated School Board, along with Julie Bilz who is running for the first time and is also unopposed. Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Board seats will be filled by incumbents Dr. John Harker and Pat Walters, along with Chad Miller.

You can download the complete Bartholomew County ballot list from the voter registration office here (PDF format)